Skip to content

While I Wait: A Journey of Recovery

Memories of Life in a Besieged City

“Every morning I jump out of bed and step on a landmine. The landmine is me. After the explosion, I spend the rest of the day putting the pieces together.” Ray Bradbury

 

Copyright W.C.Turck1993

Sarajevo sniper alley

Each day I work hard on forgetting and every minute I fail miserably. I stay away from writing even though I feel the story is an important one to tell. I sit down ready to craft the mess of emotions into a linear telling, but the panic overwhelms and makes me a coward.

Stop and run away,  I tell myself each day, knowing well that the escape is impossible. Fight back,  I scream out, knowing that I can do this. Be coward, be brave, be anyone else but the one who is not. A decision is to be made and it must be truly mine, made of a desperate need for love and clarity. To destroy my soul daily is not an easy choice to make and I am not looking forward to doing so, but it is the right one for me, Today.

Tags: , , , ,

